March 12, 2009

  • I know...it's been a very long time

    What happened last year that I didn't have time to writeon xanga?

    I have no good reason except maybe I felt uninspired and got bored hearing myself. I finally decided to log on today and read what everyone's been doing and thinking....and wow! A lot of changes and fun events for many of them.  As for me, it always seems like it's the same thing. I know it isn't. That I do fill my days with a lot of activities, but I haven't been thinking too much about anything.

    Did a lot of reading last year. Still doing that this year.  I was heartbroken for a brief period last year...and then I got frustrated and ended a relationship (but as usual...is it really over if we're still in touch). The only difference now  is that I don't care as much.  It's been so busy that I honestly feel I have no time to sit and just enjoy what's going on. 

    Work has been very busy and stressful. I work in admissions, but I've been pulled to another office to help with their workload because the new computer system is taking more of an adjustment than what we expected. It's good to be busy and I totally enjoyed it the first week it (the computer system) went live (prior to that, we've been in training galore...and got paid for some overtime..yay), but now on the second week, I miss my desk..my computer, my time to do what I need to do (but can't right now because it's so darn busy at the other office that I can't even check up on my emails).

    We've been asked not to take more than 7 days of vacation for the next two years because of this new computer system. For this reason, I can't go to Dubai, France, Italy and Philippines for the next two years! I'm totally bummed about it, but I'm still making plans to travel to HI in late July, NY in late August, Monterey in April (road trip with my girlfriends), Vegas in October (this is a maybe) and San Francisco sometime before the end of the year. 

    I'm not dating. I don't know what happened, but I've lost interest in finding a relationship. I think I've given up. When I'm ready, I'm sure I'll start putting myself out there again, but right now...not doing anything really.  I'm just working. Going to the gym...heck not only 24 hour fitness, but Bar Method...and soon Bikram Yoga. I think this year, I'm just really trying to focus on getting healthy. For that reason, I've finally decided to make some big item purchases. One was to buy my waterproof digital camera. The other (which I will do later on today) is buy a mac and printer so I can finally start tracking my calories daily! I have not owned a computer in a decade! Yes, it's been that long. I never needed one after college and I was working so much that I was always near a computer.  But now, I realize I need to track my progress even on weekends (and I no longer work weekends)...so that's that. 

    Other things that happened...last year, my grandfather's brother died. This past Monday, my aunt died from cancer. Her funeral is this Friday.  I was really shocked because I just saw her two weeks ago. She just got out of the hospital because she was doing better...she looked so strong, but I guess...not. I accept death..I know I will die someday, but it is still hard for me to deal with it sometimes. I think of my aunts who died young. Died from cancer. The children they left behind, the spouses they left behind...and what are they doing now. 

    I actually did a lot of walking last year. My coworker and I made Thursdays our working/hangout days since we're both off. For that reason, I saw a lot more movies the past year than I've seen in any given year prior to that. 

    A lot of wedding last year. Between March through early May, my weekends were filled with bridal showers, bachelorette/bachelor parties (I was "Best Maid" at my friend's wedding to his boyfriend..so I planned the bachelor party) and the weddings were every other week! It was a busy year for weddings!

    Last summer, a lot of pool parties at the house. I had taken a week off from work (after cancelling Paris) and was fortunate enough to have a few girlfriends who had the summer off or weren't working at that time.  So my summer was really special and fun.

    Had a crazy lying roommate. A serious con artist. Had another roommate that we wanted to kick out as well. Now the roommate situations are way better than before!  We all get along and life is so much better!

    Well, it's going to be 2:30am soon, I better start my work stuff before I leave for the day!  Gym right after work. Then going to the Grove to watch the Watchmen (the graphic novel took awhile to read), have lunch and then buy my mac!! Should be a good day.

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment