Month: June 2007

  • bored

    I'm so bored today (after reading up on the sad news of the Benoit family --> i don't watch WWE, but it's still sad, watching some will farrell website w/ a cute baby saying funny lines, myspace, E.L.F. (cosmetics) website, my friends' Fred & Lonny's website, tmz.com)...I'm actually reading 7-eleven's website! OMG! someone kick me!! so bored that i'm trying to see what they serve in their convenience store. 45 more minutes and I get to go home...and crash before I go to work tonight. I'll be off tomorrow night...so I seriously can't wait for that!

    I sent hapa an email. It was a good email. Hopefully I didn't scare him but I wanted to clarify things and well...I did get a text message...don't know if it was before or after he read my email..but hopefully it was after...and that would be a good thing (sigh)...i'll know for sure when he returns.

  • Thank goodness

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20070625/ap_on_re_us/67_million_pants

    Finally! Common sense prevails! Hopefully there'll be more outcomes like this. Ridiculous is all I have to say to the guy that filed the lawsuit. Kudos to the judge.

    So after a week of finally coming back from a two week stint, I have not seen hapa...and guess what, he's on another business trip (for a few days and in the states this time) this week. He did say he got me a gift from his trip to China. I smiled when I found out cuz I never expected him to do so. Thinking about it, I don't think I've had a guy buy me anything from a trip overseas. But I'm gonna have to find out what he got me when he comes back.  (sigh).

  • I am feeling a whole lot better today. After the spa Wednesday night, my spirits are up. I was able to sleep in (cuz I took the night off) and get up to do my errands. Looking forward to next week where I actually have 3 consecutive days off!! It's going to be so good!

  • yahoo news

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20070619/ap_on_re_us/poverty_plan

    You got to be kidding me? I once told my teachers in high school that the students that get the most recognition are the ones that are either very smart or the ones that cause trouble. Everyone else falls between the cracks (sort of speak). Everyone else brings decent grades, don't make much trouble...are overall good kids, but they oftentimes never got recognized. Majority of these students got their positive feedback from friends, family members but probably most of all from themselves. That inner will to just be a good student....which will eventually lead them to be productive good citizens.

    Now you read that article above and I'm thinking....so the poverish people in NYC (according to the article it's been implemented in other countries, but this experimental rewards program is going to happen here) get paid to be poor? WTF! I'm sorry but from what I see already, the poor have many resources and tax breaks. I agree, it is harder for them to live. But what about middle America? What about the ones that make too much to qualify for any government help but make very little to afford going one night of inpatient stay at a hospital (without borrowing money from credit cards or dipping into a very small retirement account...basically going into debt when they are already living paycheck-to-paycheck)? Sure this experiment is done by private funds...but you know what this is telling me?? Better to be poor...cuz when you're poor, you can get free healthcare, assistance to buy food...you can even qualify for subsidize housing, cheaper phone bill and electicity rates.  For middle America the good choices we've made to be good citizens...well, it's through hard work as well. But you don't see any type of help out there for middle America. They make too much (b/c they happen to own a house or if not own, make just above the poverty level) but they don't make enough to pay for doctor bills? Yet, we are rewarding poor parents to go to teacher-parent conferences?? It just doesn't make sense to me.

    My coworker's mother, a few years ago before her death, was very ill. They were retired. Not a lot of money (enough set aside to live on). They live frugally and their 3 kids helped them out. When the mother became very ill and stayed in the hospital for days...I know financially my coworker was struggling. The parents worked hard in the US for many many years. They raised 3 kids that contribute to the economy and not drain money from the goverment. They weren't born in the US but they raised their kids to make good decisions. Go to school. Study hard. Be productive adults.They never once asked for help. But now that they were struggling financially (remember they were retired) they still couldn't qualify for any government program because they owned a home (which they considered income).....but they worked their ass off to pay for this house, and the government is telling them "we can't help with any healthcare fees b/c you own a home and that's an income?". So WTF , where do they live/move to then to qualify...a cardboard box?

    A few days later, one of my social workers was talking to an uninsured couple that just gave birth. Neither of them had steady jobs or a job with benefits (a rant I will leave for another time). The social worker asks the couple, what are your plans? You plan on getting work? The husband replies, "why work when the government will pay for us"? Even in their country they don't get help, but here they are milking the economy. But here they are getting government assitance with the mentality of "I don't have to work, we get paid to be poor..." and you know what that guy said?? He actually told the social worker he wants to have more kids and plans on starting that as soon as possible. First off, it's sad b/c their kids are going to grow up with so many hardships. Yes, they'll get assistance to pay for food, etc. But growing up, they will have it tough. Never get the latest trendy clothes, the latest gadgets, makeup, shoes, etc. etc. The place they'll live in may not be the best housing out there...but you know what, at least they get a break.  But what bothers me the most, is that mentality...why do i have to work when good 'ole Uncle Sam is willing to pay for me?? It's so backwards sometimes.

    Don't get me wrong, I'm all about helping the poor. It is definitely a responsibilty we as human beings should have. Compassion to help those needier than us. I definitely believe there should be programs out there to help those that can't help themselves. The mentally ill who can't function enough to hold a steady job. The kid with learning disability to attend extra free tutoring classes. The homeless shelters that also provide food.  The extracurricular after school acitivities for kids to attend to avoid joining gangs. Reading/tutoring programs for those that need it. I'm all for that.

    But to set aside money for "just the poor" to attend school, go to parent teacher conferences, visiting the dentist...isn't it a bit unfair? If you're going to do that, I say make it fair across the board. If you're going to reward such things, reward it across the board. Because attending parent-teacher conference, seeing a dentist, going to the doctor....these are choices one makes throughout their lives.  There's already breaks for the poor to get free mental, dental and healthcare coverage. Now we're going to give them money for their kids to graduate? Sh*t, that's called making good decisions and you know what.....that's all about upbringing and values. Everyone across the board have equal opportunity to make those decisions. The family whose financially struggling can still instill the importance of going to school and bringing the grades home so that they can have a better future.

    My parents came to the US with very little money. They worked wherever they could at first. They looked long term. Made good decisions. Instilled morals in their children and told us the importance of education. If my parents who had a few dollars on them can be where they are today without the help of the governement, then why can't others? I'm sure this will be found from many other people whose parents came here. Yeah I didn't get the latest trendy clothes (most of mine were hand-me-downs). We never had back-to-school shopping sprees. We didn't have the latest computers (my mom would buy from the old job the computer they were going to throw away). My parents learned to speak English (granted, it's practically a 2nd language in their motherland)...but you know what, there are many people from many countries that come to LIVE here and learn the language. Most of them don't have the mentality of "you have to speak my language"! It's such an absurd idea...like me planning to move permanently to Russia and I plan on never learning the language there...absurd! 

    Yet here we are...in the good 'ole USA and we are so backwards sometimes. I have no problems with incentives, but like I said, make it across the board. 

    On a side note, Arnold the CA governator said something last week that got him some heat. The thing is, he just said what probably many people are thinking and feeling.  Also random...when CA got rid of affirmative action (which I do believe was a good thing...affirmative action that is...not the getting rid part) I remember my grad student saying "Affirmative action might have gotten me in, but my hard work made sure I stayed in".  Just something to think about.... 

  • YoYoIng

    Almost a month and all I can say is I've only lost 2 pounds...actually, I had lost 2 lbs, gained 1.6 and lost the 1.6 again.  I seriously need some sort of motivation to stay in the program! You'd think the thought of death by heart disease would be a good motivating factor, but it hasn't seem to be working on me yet. 

    I was suppose to work last night, but I was so exhausted I couldn't even get myself to get up. My body felt so heavy to wake that I just couldn't get myself up after 2 hours of sleep. Yes...I know, I do feel like I'm slowly killing myself with this work schedule. However, the sleep did wonders. I feel so refreshed and awake and I feel sooooo much better. I know...I need to cut my night job! I so need to do it!! BUT financially, I would be struggling and I can't have that.

    I'm debating if I should head out to the spa...I was just there this past Saturday, but i felt so good that I think I should just go there and use the facilities....hmmm...choices choices....

    This is going to be short...I had more to write, but work is gettig busy..so better bounce...

  • I know, it's been awhile

    It's been crazy busy here....things are happening so quickly that I rarely have time to stop and take a breath to enjoy the moment.  Chicago Guy did tell me he was looking for a more serious relationship with me, but after the 3rd cancelled date using "no money at this time" as a reason, I basically couldn't take him seriously.  I basically told him that all I could offer was friendship at this time.

    It didn't help that things with hapa is strangely okay.  I don't know what it is....and that's okay too. I'm keeping my options open though...but it's been interesting so far.

    Work has been mad busy.  I've been mad tired. Working back-to-back-to-back-to-back with 4 hours in between jobs at night to sleep....is draining. Sadly, it has messed up my body's chemical balance and I need to go make another appointment with the doctor to see what I need to do.  But I need the money right now. With weddings and trips coming up...it's a necessity that I work. (sigh).

    I know i'm a bit secretive right now. Not talking much about the bullsh*t in my life or the good stuff as well...but it's like, I don't want to say much just in case it blows over...lol.  Only time will tell.